Casual letter: apology

Your friend is coming to your city from overseas. Write to him/her to say that you will not be able to accommodate him/her in your home. Include the following in your letter:

– Give your reasons.
– Suggest him/her an alternative accommodation.
– Suggest a place and time for you to meet.

 

*****

Dear Sally,

Hope the trip plans are coming along. Can’t wait to see you next month! I’m just writing to let you know about a slight change of plans with your accommodation.

Originally, I thought my roomate was going to be away during your stay; she was meant to be in Canberra for workshop that week and she’d said you could use her bedroom. But the event has been rescheduled so unfortunately, her room won’t be available for you. I’m so sorry about that.

Don’t panic, though! I’ve already looked into another option that I’m sure you’ll be happy with. I found this cute studio apartment through airbnb just around the corner from my place. It’s super cheap and I reckon you’ll love it. I’ll email you the link and all the details this afternoon once I hear back from the owner.

By the way, on the day you arrive, I’ve managed to take the day off so I’ll be able to meet you at the train station. Basically, if you grab the 12:30 skybus from the airport, it’ll take you straight to Southern Cross station and I’ll meet you there at 1:15. Easy!

Sorry again for the accommodation mix-up but it should all be fine now.  I can’t wait to see you in just a few weeks.

Love,

Jane

Written by a Bayside IELTS expert

Leave a Reply

